Home > Media > ASSIST launches ADB NGOC Photo Competition Click: Capturing Images of Inclusive Growth

ASSIST launches ADB NGOC Photo Competition Click: Capturing Images of Inclusive Growth

Added: (Thu Mar 15 2012)

Pressbox (Press Release) - Asia Society for Social Improvement and Sustainable Transformation (ASSIST) in partnership with the Asian Development Bank NGO and Civil Society Center is pleased to launch Click: Capturing Images of Inclusive Growth on March 15, 2012, as part of the activities for the Annual Board of Governors meeting to be held in Manila, Philippines.

Carrying the theme Achieving Inclusive Growth through Partnerships in a World of Seven Billion, the competition calls for "images that capture the challenges that the world of seven billion faces, as well as the efforts being taken by various stakeholders – governments, non-profits, industries and the communities – to resolve them, with inclusive growth as the overarching theme."

Through this initiative for the ADB NGO Center, ASSIST hopes to educate, alert, and more importantly, inspire people to act.

Anyone who is a citizen of any one of ADB's 67 members* can join. Over $3000 worth of prizes are at stake for the winners, which will be chosen based on the following criteria: Substance, impact and creativity: 50%; and Composition, clarity and technical quality: 50%. The deadline of submission is April 15, 2012.

Photos should show any or a combination of the following themes: Addressing Climate Change, Gender and Development, Managing the Effects of Disasters and Food Security.

An awarding ceremony will be held on the first week of May, 2012. Following the selection of winners, the photographs will be exhibited in various locations to promote awareness on the competition’s theme.

Interested parties may visit http://assistasia.wordpress.com/adb-ngoc-photo-contest/ or e-mail adbngocphotocontest@gmail.com for more details.

*ADB members: Afghanistan; Armenia; Australia; Austria; Azerbaijan; Bangladesh; Belgium; Bhutan; Brunei Darussalam; Cambodia; Canada; People’s Republic of China; Cook Islands; Denmark; Fiji Islands; Finland; France; Georgia; India; Germany; Hong Kong, China; Indonesia; Ireland; Italy; Japan; Kazakhstan; Kiribati; the Republic of Korea; Kyrgyz Republic; Lao People’s Democratic Republic; Luxembourg; Malaysia; Maldives; Marshall Islands; Federated States of Micronesia;, Mongolia; Myanmar; Nepal; The Netherlands; New Zealand; Norway; Pakistan; Palau; Papua New Guinea; Philippines; Portugal; Samoa; Singapore; Solomon Islands; Spain; Sweden; Switzerland; Taipei, China; Sri Lanka; Tajikistan; Thailand; Timor-Leste; Tonga; Tuvalu; Turkey; Turkmenistan; United Kingdom; United States; Uzbekistan; Vanuatu; and Viet Nam

Submitted by:Sebastian Reichmann
Disclaimer: Pressbox disclaims any inaccuracies in the content contained in these releases. If you would like a release removed please send an email to remove@pressbox.co.uk together with the url of the release.