Added: (Mon Apr 06 2009)

Pressbox (Press Release) - Shortlist announced for 10th Asian Women of Achievement Awards.

The search to find Britain’s most inspirational Asian women came closer today, Friday April 3, 2009 with the publication of the 10th Asian Women of Achievement Awards shortlist.

Founded and chaired by Indian born author and entrepreneur Pinky Lilani OBE, the Lloyds TSB sponsored awards have celebrated the contribution that Asian women make to British life for the last decade.

The shortlist includes Seetha Kumar, head of BBC Online, Yasmin Qureshi, a leading barrister who is set to become the first ever female Muslim MP, and Hong Kong born choreographer and producer Carolyn Choa - wife of the late Oscar-winning film-maker Anthony Minghella.

Ahlya Fateh, managing editor of Tatler, as well as senior managers from global corporates such as Tata Consultancy Services, CapGemini, Citi and Shell, also feature.

Female Asian entrepreneurs on the list include Hajira Ahmad and Sadia Siddiqui, founders of Caramel Asian Model Management – the UK's first all Asian modelling agency – and Dr Mah Hussain-Gambles, founder of skincare brand Saaf Pure.

The judging panel chaired by Sir Nicholas Young, chief executive of the British Red Cross will meet the candidates on April 20 in London.

The Asian Women of Achievement Awards, whose patron is Cherie Blair, will be announced during a ceremony at the London Hilton on May 20.

Kamel Hothi, Asian Markets Director at Lloyds TSB Corporate Markets, said: “There is a huge reserve of talent, passion and insight within the Asian business community which the UK economy needs to fully harness.

"Through our locally based teams, we're listening to many Asian run companies every day and finding new ways of supporting this increasingly important and diverse component of the business landscape, through our products and services and local community networking."

Pinky Lilani OBE said: “Over the past 10 years the awards have become a real barometer of social change. The standard of this year’s nominations has been incredible, with the shortlist demonstrating the wealth of talent in the Asian community that we are keen to support and promote.”

The Asian Women of Achievement Awards are hosted by Real Business magazine, in association with Lloyds TSB.

For information on how to enter the awards visit: http://www.awaawards.com

ENDS April 2009

For more information please contact:

Martin Currie Holly Jones
Citypress Citypress
T. 0161 235 0310 T. 0161 235 0328
E. martin.currie@citypress.co.uk E. holly.jones@citypress.co.uk

Notes to Editors:

1. The full shortlist for the 2009 Asian Women of Achievement Awards is:

The Arts & Culture Award

Carolyn Choa, choreographer and producer
Kishani Jaysinghe, opera singer
Jaishree Misra, film classifier
Kamila Shamsie, writer
Roxanne Zand, Sotheby’s director for the Middle East

Business Woman of the Year

Kim Dawson, Shell
Nasrin Janmohamed, CapGemini
Veera Johnson, CEO, Procserve
Swati Mitra, Citi
Vin Murria, Advanced Computer Services
Nupur Singh, Tata

Entrepreneur of the Year

Hajira Ahmad & Sadia Siddiqui, Caramel Asian Model Management
Dr Mah Hussain-Gambles, Saaf Pure Skincare
Kavita Jnagal & Rani Uppelle, Simply Recruitment
Nasreen Karim, Platinum
Christina Vaughan, Image Source

Media Professional of the Year

Riz Lateef, BBC London News
Reena SenGupta, RSG Consulting
Salma Zulfiqar, video journalist
Seetha Kumar, BBC Online
Hasina Momtaz, press officer for the London Mayor
Ahlya Fateh, managing editor, Tatler

The Social & Humanitarian Award

Shaista Gohir, Muslim Women’s Network
Dr Tashmin Khamis, Child-to-Child Trust
Adeela Shafi, University of West England
Shereen Williams, C.E.M.V.A
Hannana Siddiqui, Southall Black Sisters

Young Achiever of the Year

Rehana Azib, barrister
Melody Hossaini, global youth sector consultant
Kam Mattu, London Stock Exchange
Sonali Shah, Newsround
Rajini Vaidyanathan, reporter
Neev Ranu, DJ

Professional of the Year

Professor Nish Chaturvedi, Imperial College London
Yasmin Qureshi, barrister
Geeta Khehar, partner, Clifford Chance
Dr Ilina Singh, lecturer
Dr Sunita Verma, dentist

The Public Sector Award

Dr Anwar Ali, Tower Hamlets Council
Vicki Treadell, British Deputy High Commissioner, Mumbai
Dr Farrukh Shah, consultant haematologist
Manjula Sood, lord mayor, Leicester
Jan Rayat, specialist teacher

2. The judging panel includes:

- Sir Nicholas Young
- Emma Arbuthnot, district judge
- Sue Ashtiany, partner, Nabarro
- Sharon Bamford, chief executive, UK India Business Council
- James Caan, CEO, Hamilton Bradshaw
- Mark Carroll, director of housing care and support, Communities and Local Government
- Shami Chakrabarti, director, Liberty
- James Chalmers, head of strategy and talent, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
- Ian Chivers, director of Finance and Corporate Services, NSPCC
- Elizabeth Coffey, managing director, Spark Leadership
- Sarah Deaves, chief executive, Coutts
- Cassandra Goad, founder, Cassandra Goad
- David Harrison, vice president – Visa Commercial, Visa Europe
- Kamel Hothi, Asian Markets Director, Lloyds TSB Corporate Markets
- Mark Pinder, partner, Bird & Bird LLP
- Kieran Poynter, former chairman and senior partner, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
- Maggie Rose, CEO, MROI
- Rishaad Salamat, morning anchor, Bloomberg
- Jean Sharp, chief taxation office, Aviva
- Meera Syal, comedienne and actress
- Anne Watts, chair, Appointments Commission

Submitted by:Holly Jones
Disclaimer: Pressbox disclaims any inaccuracies in the content contained in these releases. If you would like a release removed please send an email to remove@pressbox.co.uk together with the url of the release.